Yerevan and Astana declared sister cities

April 15 2024, 13:23


Armenia’s capital Yerevan and Kazakhstan’s capital Astana have been declared sister cities.

The ceremony of signing of the respective document was held at the residence of the Armenian President following a meeting between Prime Minister Nikol Pashinyan and Kazakhstan’s President Kassym-Jomart Tokayev, who is in Yerevan on an official visit.

The agreement on declaring Yerevan and Astana sister cities was signed by Yerevan Mayor Tigran Avinyan and Astana Mayor Zhenis Kassymbek.

During a joint briefing with President Tokayev, Pashinyan said that the opening of a park named after Mesrop Mashtots in Astana and a park named after Kazakh poet Abai Kunanbaiuly in Yerevan is under discussion.